The Eisenberg Prize

The American Academy of Appellate Lawyers (AAAL) created the Eisenberg Prize to recognize the publication of high-quality articles in the field of appellate practice and procedure. The award is named in honor of the late Howard B. Eisenberg, Dean of the Marquette University Law School and an early AAAL member.


To be considered for the Eisenberg Prize, articles must have been published in a law school journal between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022. Submit entries via email at no later than Friday, February 4, 2023.

AAAL's Eisenberg Prize Committee reviews all entries and makes a recommendation to the AAAL Board of Directors for its approval. The author receives a $2,000 prize.



2020-2021 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Charles W. Tyler, Associate Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School
"The Adjudicative Model of Precedent", University of Chicago Law Review, September 2020

2019-2020 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Professor William Baude, University of Chicago Law School
"Precedent and Discretion", 2019 Supreme Court Review 313 (2020)

2018-2019 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Professor Jeffrey L. Fisher, Stanford Law School and Professor Allison Orr Larson, William and Mary Law School
"Virtual Briefing at the Supreme Court", Cornell Law Review at 105 Cornell L. Rev. 85 (2019)


2017-2018 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Co-authors: Professors Thomas B. Bennett and Barry Friedman - New York University School of Law, Chancellor Andrew D. Martin - Washington University School of Law, Professor Susan Navarro Smelcer - Georgia State University
Divide and Concur: Separate Opinions & Legal Change, 103 Cornell L. Rev. 817 (2018)

2016-2017 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Co-authors Professors Allison Orr Larsen and Neal Devins of the College of William and Mary School of Law
The Amicus Machine, 102 Va. L. Rev. 1901 (Dec. 2016)

2015-2016 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Professor Allison Orr Larsen, Professor of Law, College of William and Mary Law School
The Trouble with Amicus Facts

2013-2014 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Professor Bryan Lammon, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Toledo College of Law
Rules, Standards, and Experimentation in Appellate Jurisdiction

2012-2013 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Richard A. Posner, Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit; Senior Lecturer, University of Chicago Law School
Judicial Opinions and Appellate Advocacy in Federal Courts — One Judge's Views



Aaron R. Petty, U.S. Department of Justice
The Hidden Harmony of Appellate Jurisdiction



Jennifer L. Sheppard, Associate Professor of Law, Mercer University School of Law
Once Upon a Time, Happily Ever After, and in a Galaxy Far, Far Away: Using Narrative to Fill the Cognitive Gap Left by Overrelliance on Pure Logic in Appellate Briefs and Motion Memoranda



Professor Beth Thornburg, SMU Dedman School of Law
The Curious Appellate Judge: Ethical Limits on Independent Research



Associate Professor Adam N. Steinman, University of Cincinnati College of Law
Reinventing Appellate Jurisdiction



Professors Michael E. Solimine and Rafael Gely, University of Cincinnati College of Law
The Supreme Court and the DIG: An Empirical and Institutional Analysis



Professor Joan Steinman, Chicago-Kent School of Law
Irregulars: The Appellate Rights of Persons Who Are Not Full-Fledged Parties



Assistant Professor Chad M. Oldfather, Oklahoma City University Law School
Appellate Courts, Historical Facts, and the Civil-Criminal Distinction