The Eisenberg Prize

About the Award

The Academy created the Eisenberg Prize to recognize the publication of high-quality articles in the field of appellate practice and procedure. The award is named in honor of the late Howard B. Eisenberg, Dean of the Marquette University Law School, and an early Academy member. The author of the winning article receives a $2000 cash prize.

2020 – 2021 Eisenberg Prize Recipient

Charles W. Tyler, Associate Professor of Law, George Washington University Law School

"The Adjudicative Model of Precedent", University of Chicago Law Review, September 2020

Previous Recipients

The Kathleen McCree Lewis Award

About The Award

The Kathleen McCree Lewis Award for Appellate Justice was created in honor of Academy past president Kathleen McCree Lewis, who died shortly after completing her term as president. The Academy’s Board of Directors wanted to recognize Kathleen's warmth, elegance, and especially her devotion to appellate justice.

2022 Kathleen McCree Lewis Award Recipient

Charles A. Bird (posthumously)

Academy Past President Charles A. Bird was recognized for his contribution to and impact on the delivery of appellate justice with the publication of his book, Advance Topics in Appellate Practice: The Path of Mastery.

Previous Recipients


Blake A. Hawthorne


Justice Anthony M. Kennedy


Sanford (Sandy) Svetcov


Arthur J. England Jr.


Daniel Meador


Elaine Alexander