Amicus Committee

When important issues of appellate procedure arise in appellate courts, and the Committee determines that a consensus of Fellows support a position that might benefit from amicus briefing, this committee prepares and files amicus briefs on behalf of the Academy.

Daniel F. Polsenberg (Chair)
Gerald B. Cope, Jr.
Harvey D. Ellis, Jr.
Thomas C. Goldstein
Stephen P. Groves, Sr.
Wendy C. Lascher
Stephen Masciocchi
Joel W. Nomkin
Leah Ward Sears

Eisenberg Prize Committee

The committee reviews scholarly articles on topics relating to appellate law, appellate courts, rules and processes, oral argument, and the impacts of appellate decision-making. The committee recognizes each academic year’s most outstanding appeal-related publication by awarding then Eisenberg Prize to the author(s).

Elizabeth White (Chair)
TTimothy Berg
Beth Chapman Carver
Kim Demarchi
Andrew Howie
Daniel Krisch
Robert Olson
Marc Poster
Janet Schroer
Benjamin Shatz
Joan Steinman
Valerie Villacin
Joshua G. Vincent

Meetings and Programming Committee

The committee selects sites for AAAL meetings, and, in conjunction with each meeting’s Planning Committee, plans and coordinates the Fall and Spring Meetings.

Warren W. Harris (Chair)
Donald Capparella
Adam Charnes
Shay Dvoretzky
Stephen P. Groves, Sr.
Kirk Jenkins
James Lobsenz
Deanne E. Maynard
Randy Roach
Mike Scodro
Michael B. Terry

Membership Screening Committee

The committee reviews and investigates nominations for Fellows by making confidential inquiries to judges, opposing counsel, and current Fellows in the same state. After reviewing reports and discussion at monthly Zoom conferences, the committee votes. If at least two-thirds of the Committee agrees, the nomination is forwarded to the Board for final consideration.

Joel D. Bertocchi (Chair)
Mark Bradford
E. B. Chiles, IV
Linda Coberly
William F. Gary
Jerold Ganzfried
Ed Guedes
Anne Berleman Kearney
Russell Post
Harvey Sepler
Scott Smith
Robert J. Stumpf, Jr.
Charles R. Watson, Jr.
Amy Weil
Charles Wirken

New Fellow Orientation Committee

This committee will coordinate a program that assigns veteran Fellows to the incoming Fellows for their first 2-3 years to assist and guide them to becoming involved in the Academy. This will include answering questions, encouraging them to attend meetings and join committees, and introducing them to other Fellows.

Scott P. Stolley (Chair)
James E. Mountain, Jr.

Nominating Committee

Howard M. Goodfriend (Chair)
Margaret M. Grignon
Charles R. Watson, Jr.

Outreach Committee

This committee is charged with enhancing the awareness and reputation of the AAAL outside the Academy by partnering or integrating with other bar organizations, judicial organizations, or potential client groups. This may include finding speaker opportunities, sharing written materials, or other forms of interaction.

George (Buck) T. Lewis, III (Chair)
Claudia Frost
Bruce D. Greenberg
Wallace B. Jefferson
Randy Roach
Benjamin Shatz

Rules Committee

The Rules Committee monitors proposed appellate rules changes and decides whether the Academy should take a position on any the proposed changes. The Committee also surveys the Academy membership to see if any appellate rules warrant study and proposed changes.

Susan Ford Robertson (Chair)
Robert L. Byer
Ed R. Haden
Bruce P. Merenstein
Jon P. Schmidt
Thomas B. Weaver

Kathleen McCree Lewis Award Committee

This committee periodically considers nominations and votes to bestow an award named after a beloved former President of the Academy, the late Kathleen McCree Lewis. The award recognizes significant contributions to appellate practice.

Thomas M. Christ (Chair)
Elizabeth Carver
Charles R. Watson, Jr.

New Fellows Identification Committee

The committee analyzes the current demographics of the Academy and then seeks to identify leading appellate lawyers to be considered for membership who would promote diversity, including diversity of race, gender, sexual orientation and identity, geography, and practice type.

John P. Elwood (Chair)
Sean Connelly
Ruthanne Deutsch
Margaret Grignon
Randall L. Hodgkinson
Wallace L. Lightsey
John C. Neiman, Jr.
Lisa Perrochet
Daniel F. Polsenberg
Fred Rowley, Jr.
Peter Stris

Remote Oral Argument Task Force

This task force was formed soon after the COVID-19 pandemic caused appellate courts to cancel in-person oral arguments and switch to some form of remote oral argument. The task force has collected data on which courts prefer which type of remote oral argument, issued a report collecting tips for remote oral argument, and presented a webinar on remote oral argument. The task force plans to watch and report on the ways in which remote oral arguments remain part of the practice after in-person oral arguments resumes.

James R. Layton (Chair)
Charles L. Becker
Joel Bertocchi
Michael King
Robin Meadow
Catherine Wright Smith

Drew Days Diversity in Appellate Practice Committee

This committee works to increase diversity in the appellate bar and bench. The initial step is to partner with The Appellate Project (TAP) in supporting law students of color who are interested in appellate practice through: (1) providing legal writing workshops; (2) networking events; and (3) considering TAP students for internships in our firms/offices.

Tillman Breckenridge (Chair)
Raymond Cardozo
Kimberly A. Demarchi
Edward G. Guedes
Wallace Jefferson
Michael King
Deane Maynard
Linda Morkan
Alan B. Morrison
Daniel F. Polsenberg
Joan Steinman